Home  |   Subscribe  |   Resources  |   Reprints  |   Writers' Guidelines

WEDI Announces Slate of New 2018 Board of Directors

The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI), a nonprofit authority on the use of HIT to create efficiencies in health care information exchange and a trusted advisor to Health and Human Services (HHS), recently announced the election of three new board members to its Board of Directors, as well as the reelection of eight previous board members to serve two-year terms. The WEDI Board of Directors represents a diverse cross-section of the industry including payers, providers, government regulators, and industry vendors. This group of executives will strategically drive the organization's endeavors to promote the use of HIT in improving health care information exchange—enhancing quality of care, improving efficiency and reducing costs.

New board members include the following:

  1. Laurie Burckhardt, WPS Health Solutions (Health Plan)
  2. Crystal Ewing, ZirMed (Vendor)
  3. Laurie Woodrome, LabCorp (Provider)

Reelected board members include the following:

  1. Durwin Day, Health Care Service Corporation (Health Plan)
  2. John Kelly, Edifecs (Vendor)
  3. Deborah Meisner, Change Healthcare (Vendor)
  4. Ryan Reddick, Anthem (Health Plan)
  5. Erin Richardson, Federation of American Hospitals (Provider)
  6. Samuel E. Rubenstein, Montefiore Medical Center (Provider)
  7. Debra Strickland, Conduent (Vendor)
  8. Robert Tennant, Medical Group Management Association (Provider)

Standing and appointed board members include the following:

  1. George Arges, American Hospital Association (Provider)
  2. Stacey Barber, Hewlett Packard (Vendor)
  3. Robert Bowman, CAQH (Standards/Operating Rules)
  4. Laura Darst, Mayo Clinic (Provider)
  5. Lorraine Doo, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (Government)
  6. Jay Eisenstock, Chair Elect (Health Plan)
  7. Jaime Evermann, BCBS South Carolina (Health Plan)
  8. Pam Grosze, PNC Bank (Vendor)
  9. David Haugen, Minnesota Department of Health (Government)
  10. Scott Herbst, Availity (Vendor)
  11. Charles Jaffe, Health Level Seven HL7 (Standards/Operating Rules)
  12. Gail Kocher, BCBS Association (Health Plan)
  13. Bryan Matsuura, Kaiser Permanente (Hybrid)
  14. Tom Meyers, America's Health Insurance Plans (Health Plan)
  15. Jean Narcisi, American Dental Association (Provider)
  16. Teresa Rivera, Utah Health Information Network (Not-for-Profit/Affiliate)
  17. Nancy Spector, American Medical Association (Provider)
  18. Charles Stellar, WEDI (President & CEO Ex-Officio)
  19. Lee Ann Stember, NCPDP (Standards/Operating Rules)
  20. Michael Wilson, HealthCare Information Management, Inc. (Vendor)

"We have an incredible group of seasoned executives making up our Board of Directors," says Charles W. Stellar, president and CEO of WEDI. "Their expertise and range of perspectives are invaluable to our organization as we look to create efficiencies to the health care industry as a whole through better use of health information technology. Congratulations to the new and reelected board members—we look forward to furthering our initiatives together."

For more information on the WEDI Board of Directors, visit the WEDI website.

Source: Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange